15th Randomly Boring Fact: I’m open, sort of… especially to a Pretenders song

This 15th random fact – my “Openness” – comes from numbers 14-19 that I ripped off eHarmony in the way of character traits. Whoever set up the testing and responses at eHarmony really doesn’t want to offend – just check out how affirming they are in talking about me. I’d like to date them, but of course I can’t because of my still-married-pending-divorce status.

Despite sharing another fact that sharing self-examination results with other has become a boring task for me and probably even more boring reading for any reader stickin with me, I’ll proceed while poking fun at myself.

2: Introduction to Openness

How firmly committed are you to the ideas and beliefs that govern your thinking and guide your behavior? Some people trust their current ideas and beliefs the way a climber trusts the mountain; whichever way they move, whether the climb is on a familiar trail or over new ground, there is something solid beneath them, something they count on.

This is not meant sarcastically, but anytime I see or hear the word “solid” the old gospel tune “On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand” goes through my head.

For others, new ideas, new solutions to old problems, new beliefs that replace tired convictions are like welcome wind in their sails. They can hardly wait to tack in a new direction and ride a new idea through uncharted waters. If it’s new, it’s interesting, and they’re ready to explore.

This is what drove me to become a journalist and write stories like one about a farmer who made goat’s milk soap. I enjoyed writing features and “News of the Weird” items more than anything.

The following paragraphs describe your responses to new ways of thinking and believing. How do you handle new information? Are you more like the climber on a familiar mountain or a sailor with a tiller in hand and a fresh breeze to propel you? How you integrate and process new information about the world and about others is a core aspect of your personality.

On the Openness Dimension you are:

SOMETIMES CURIOUS, SOMETIMES CONTENT

Sometimes straight, sometimes bent

Words that describe you:
Accepting
Flexible
Educated
Self-aware
Middle-of-the-road

What? They put me in the middle of the road because of my tendency to go to extremes. The mean. The average. Not me.

And we have to interrupt this blog to throw in the tune hugging my head’s insides…

“Middle of the Road” – Pretenders

THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

IS TRYING TO FIND ME
I’M STANDING IN THE MIDDLE OF LIFE WITH MY PLANS BEHIND ME
WELL I GOT A SMILE

FOR EVERYONE I MEET
AS LONG AS YOU DON’T TRY DRAGGING MY BAY
OR DROPPING THE BOMB ON MY STREET

NOW COME ON BABY
GET IN THE ROAD
OH COME ON NOW
IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD, YEAH

IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

YOU SEE THE DARNDEST THINGS
LIKE FAT GUYS DRIVING ‘ROUND IN JEEPS THROUGH THE CITY
WEARING BIG DIAMOND RINGS AND SILK SUITS
PAST CORRUGATED TIN SHACKS FULL UP WITH KIDS
OH MAN I DON’T MEAN A HAMPSTEAD NURSERY
WHEN YOU OWN A BIG CHUNK OF THE BLOODY THIRD WORLD
THE BABIES JUST COME WITH THE SCENERY

OH COME ON BABY
GET IN THE ROAD
OH COME ON NOW
IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD, YEAH

ONE…TWO…THREE…FOUR…

THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD

IS NO PRIVATE CUL-DE-SAC
I CAN’T GET FROM THE CAB TO THE CURB
WITHOUT SOME LITTLE JERK ON MY BACK
DON’T HARASS ME, CAN’T YOU TELL
I’M GOING HOME, I’M TIRED AS HELL
I’M NOT THE CAT I USED TO BE
I GOT A KID, I’M THIRTY-THREE

BABY, GET IN THE ROAD
COME ON NOW
IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD
YEAH
Proper
Distinctive
Indecisive
Adaptable
 
A General Description of How You Approach New Information and Experiences:

Like someone who can sleep comfortably on either side of the bed, you are equally at home with ideas and beliefs that you have held for a long time and with new ways of thinking and believing that grow out of your intellectual curiosity.

Your sense of who you are and what your place is in the world around you rests on values and principles that are the solid ground you walk upon. You’ve tested them, they work for you, and much of the time you are content to trust them, that is, until some provocative new idea slips in from a conversation, book or some flight of your active imagination. “Hmmmm. What’s this. Never thought of it before.” And off you go, exploring.

Since you love to learn, you’ve always been teachable; you absorb new information, which means you are well-educated in things that matter to you. Sometimes your intellectual exploring will lead you back to where you started; the “next new thing” proves too shallow or impractical to you. But once in a while a new idea or belief will dislodge you from the ground you’ve stood upon; it is so compelling and persuasive that you step away from the tried-and-true and embrace this notion that is brand new to you.

Because you hold both solid beliefs and are open to new ideas, you are accepting of other people and other ways of thinking and believing. You are flexible enough to listen to something new and different, or something outside of your comfort zone; if it works for you, you’ll take it in, and if not, you’ll let it go. In this sense, you know who you are: you are neither closed-minded nor wildly open-minded, but walk somewhere near the middle of the intellectual road.
Negative Reactions Others May Have Toward Your Style of Thinking :

Not everyone will be thrilled by your flexible, middle-of-the-road ways of thinking and believing. A few people are so taken with flights of imagination into whatever is new that they might find your commitment to long-standing values and beliefs too confining, if not too boring. Oh well; so be it. They’ll just have to be in free-flight without you.

Others are content with the ideas that have served them and their culture well; they’re not excited by the prospect of moving on. And some people are afraid of new ways of thinking because they are somewhat fragile; they have trouble maintaining their current worlds and don’t want someone like you, for instance pushing out the edges of their intellectual cosmos. So don’t be surprised if your solid values sometimes make people distrust you as an explorer, or if your flexible and open mind sometimes gets you criticized by people who walk away from the very same explorations that you find refreshing.

Positive Responses Others May Have Toward You:

Many others will find you trustworthy and therefore an attractive companion on the intellectual journey. They will appreciate the combination in you of open-mindedness and a commitment to the tried-and-true. In an intellectual climate sometimes dominated by the extremes of either wild innovation or dug-in traditionalism, your moderate views and your proper acceptance of a wide range of possibilities will be a distinctive and refreshing quality. Because you join your curiosity to strong foundational ideas and beliefs and practical solutions to problems, people will trust your occasional explorations into new territories to be reliable, and not “something new for newness sake”.

You are accepting of others, flexible in your own intellectual commitments, well-informed in areas that matter to you, and comfortably aware of who you are and where you stand. This combination will make you a desirable companion on the intellectual journey for many, many people.

So I should cruise libraries if I want to find a date.

3 Responses

  1. Helpful Dating Publications Blog…

  2. […] the movie review added an interesting post on 15th Randomly Boring Fact: Iâ […]

  3. I just googled the description I got from eHarmony to see if anyone commented on these things. I got the same results about openness with you. It’s interesting that you’re a Christian while I’m a solid non-believer.

    None of our other results seem to be the same though. I turned out:

    On the Openness Dimension:
    SOMETIMES CURIOUS, SOMETIMES CONTENT

    That was this one… same as you.

    Best described as:
    CONSISTENTLY TAKING CARE OF YOURSELF

    This is the one on agreeableness. I take less care of other people than you do apparently, but I got my reasons, I can show you the description if you wish. Hehe.. 🙂

    On Emotional Stability:
    VERY RESPONSIVE

    I’m more responsive than you are apparently, I doubt that I’m less steady though.

    Approach toward obligations:
    VERY FLEXIBLE

    Your is “focused”, pretty much the opposite I suppose.

    When it comes to Extraversion:
    RESERVED

    I don’t know what you are, but you’re not “reserved” like me I’d guess.

    Well anyway, our gender isn’t really that compatible either. 🙂

    For me it was all fairly accurate. The description of my “very responsive” emotionality was pretty problematic, but other than that I thought it was ok. That error was probably due to my unusual way of perceiving the existence, which is hard to foresee for those who write those descriptions I guess.

Leave a Reply

