Number 11 on the 26 things about me list

Sometimes I get so excited about a project I overlook a hugely important detail, like the tag for these blog entries was supposed to be “25” random things.

This is why I like editing. You get a second and third chance to look things over and spot errors that need correcting.

But I’m sticking to the 26 as it’ll give me more items to write about.

To continue on the theme of number 11 – overlooking a hugely important detail due to excitement – some examples include driving off to California during 1986 to surprise a friend of mine. We’d met at Bergstrom Air Force Base near Austin, Texas, that has since become Austin’s airport.

I didn’t take enough money to complete the California trip and especially enough cash to get through Las Vegas, although I only had about $50 when I got there.

Dad wired money.

More recently, without a grocery list I’ll buy plenty of grapes and fruit but forget milk and bread.

The fire alarm here has gone off as a test and I’m not sure if I’m supposed to leave the building at 6:26 a.m. EST or not.

This is a noisy present to dwell in, so I crank U2’s “Zooropa” title track that fits in with the alarm. More sound layers to bathe in as I crank up with coffee.

“What do you want?”

“What do you want?”

…and the alarm reads my mind and shuts down as the music escalates…

“And I have no compass
And I have no map
And I have no reasons
No reasons to get back

And I have no religion
And I don’t know what’s what
And I don’t know the limit
The limit of what we’ve got

Don’t worry baby, it’ll be alright
You got the right shoes
To get you through the night
It’s cold outside, but brightly lit
Skip the subway
Let’s go to the overground
Get your head out of the mud baby
Put flowers in the mud baby”

-U2, “Zooropa” title track from the album of the same name.

“She’s gonna dream out loud… She’s gonna dream out loud…”

With just 15 minutes before another person shows up and the nicely-appointed stereo packaged with this horribly slow and overburdened work PC must be shut down (Harman/Kardon speakers with a call center PC?) I enjoy U2’s “Numb.”

In 25 minutes, I’ll answer the phone at least 40 times during my eight-hour shift with “Thank you for calling ___  ____ . My name is Sam, may I have your employee ID number please?”

…and there’s another totally random blog entry, number 11 on the 26 random things about me list.

One Response

  1. Now see, I had to go back and edit this to add categories. Oh, man….

Leave a Reply

