Don’t Panic

Douglas Adams made those words famous in “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.”

Arthur C. Clarke said Douglas Adams’ use of “don’t panic” was perhaps the best advice that could be given to humanity.

In these times, I want to answer the telephone with those words sometimes and calm all those laid off, those wanting to cash in their 401ks to make the mortgage payment or ready to quit the pension to get ready cash back for bills.

I work in a call center helping employees with their benefits.

Callers seem a little bit more to the extremes these days – either really panicked or really laid back.

Myself, I’m missing a large chunk of hair on the back right side of my head that I’ve literally pulled out. Haven’t been able to write much either but that’s due to trying to adjust to structural change and paradigm shifts in my life.

Maybe that should read “Pair of Dime” shifts as I just spent the last two I found to put gas in my Jeep.

But God led me through the bankruptcy filing leaving me a lot of material items I deem important that God and others may not. My books, including the “Hitchhiker’s” series, are some of the said items.

Finances still worry me – especially my future. A lot of us are going to be working a bit longer than anticipated to bolster our retirement plans.

I’m waiting for President Bush to speak in hopes of some assurance even though I know he’s not who to look to when it’s time to calm a storm.

What’s panicking ya’ll out there reading this?

I encourage you to dump some of it off here and maybe find out “where your towel is.”

10 Responses

  1. I think any one with children worries about money.

    I am very slow to react to financial things because I understand, in a limited way that things rise and fall and rise again…you just gotta ride them out!

  2. Love the header pic by the way…where is that? Looks like home

  3. Funny thing is, Jesus seems to indicate that our wealth and material security is always as tenuous and unreliable as it seems to be for us now, in this current economic crisis. He warns us that even when we think we are set for life in a single moment, just a heartbeat, it can all be gone, or we may be gone. Either way, we better find something more substantial to stand upon in changing times.

    (Great new format. Real nice.)

  4. Drew,
    Your comment reminded me of the song lyrics “On Christ the solid rock I stand all other ground is sinking sand.”
    That’s where I stand though I don’t always walk that talk.
    Glad you like the new format.
    -Sam

  5. As I have watched the news and read numerous articles and posts about the financial crisis going on – I’ve often thought to myself, “Dave Ramsey must be having a heart attack.”

    I am so frustrated and angry with our government right now (on many levels) – that I am actually NOT watching the debate. My family and friends cannot believe it! I am a political junkie – always listening to talk radio, watching Fox News, etc. ISometimes, if you were to pull up next to me at a stop light…you would see me yelling at the idiot calling in to make a complete stupid comments. I have had to take a step back and completely cut myself off from all news sources for about a week or so.

    BTW, I like the new look of your blog! Have a great weekend!

  6. After posting my comment, I skipped on over to Dave Ramsey’s blog – and by golly, the man has a plan! http://www.daveramsey.com/etc/fed_bailout/economic_cleanup_10887.htmlc

  7. Sam,
    Other than money which it seems to me will always be a concern for everyone – regardless of the current economic atmosphere. I’m stressed/panicking about making good grades in school (I’m a junior in college) and making my parents proud, showing them I can be a good student.

    G

  8. Kelly,
    I share your frustration at the government. “Lord I Believe…” blogger Jim in my blogroll currently has a news moritorium going on for himself as well.

    Gothiquefae,
    Glad you’re trying to get the most out of college and make your parents proud.
    Learning discipline, structure and good work/study habits will help get you those good grades and more importantly boost self-esteem.

    -Sam

Leave a Reply

