Free Comic Book Day Draws Trio

Saturday the children and I did baseball and free comic book day.

By unanimous vote of the editors, my 10-year-old son and daughter, 6, free comic book day = awesome outing.

 We’d all like to thank supernovamom whose blog we’ve linked to in the past. She blogged about this event beforehand giving me time to plan the outing.

Sure enough, I did wind up forking over some cash although it was free. I could not resist a Wallace and Gromit graphic novel.

Daughter asked “Dad, if I want to be an artist when I grow up, do I have to be weird?”

“Alyssa, I’m sorry, but it runs in the family,” I replied. “It has nothing to do with your career choice.”

.

 

Daughter waits for Matt Herms, Sonic the Hedgehog artist, to autograph her free Sonic comic book Saturday at Phoenix Comics and Toys in Lansdown Center.

Below are photos of son batting – he hit a nice single before hitting a foul at his next bat here– and daughter getting an autograph from comic book artist Jerry Carr who draws “Cryptozoo Crew.”

 

The kids wanted to show the artists an excerpt from the comic book “Good and Evil” with Bible adapted by Michael Pearl. Illustration was done by “Famous Retired Marvel Comic Book artist.”

I felt uncomfortable with the idea and reined them in.

Now should I have done that?

4 Responses

  1. Sam, looks like the kids had a lot of fun … love the pic with your son & Darth!!!

  2. What a great outing – my guys would have been all over Matt Herms – they’re Sonic fans from way back.

    Hope you’re having a great weekend… 😉

  3. Thanks ya’ll! Wasn’t only the kids had fun. You can’t get me into a comic book store and out in less than an hour. Had it been a book store we’d been there a lot longer.
    You can always tell when the kids are over – I’m not spending much time on the ‘puter.
    Hope ya’ll have a great weekend too.
    Michelle, ever go to Lone Star Comics?
    -Sam

  4. I missed out! I love the photos, especially the one with Darth and Q! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

