Randomonium and random thoughts

I want to lead off this blog entry with a most excellent joke my son played on his teacher.

Yes, my son, 10 – got another straight A report card in his fifth-grade class. This after the school skipped him ahead from third grade to fifth.

So anyway, the child recently studied the periodic table of the elements and “Scooby Doo II – Monsters Unleashed.”

Anyone familiar with the movie will note the appearance of the element “randomonium.”

Ruh-roh.

The boy put the two together.

Seeing as how memorizing the periodic table is a daunting task even for adults, he prompted his teaacher for help finding “randomonium.”

The teacher shuffled papers and a looked in a book before the class’s snickerings alerted him.

Coming to his senses, he remembered where the “element” made its appearance. Thankfully, in my view at least, my son’s sense of humor was acknowledged and appreciated rather than punished.

Okay, so here we go.

Over here John Shore gets mad at Adam for his choice in produce http://johnshoreland.com/2008/04/28/if-we-were-descended-from-apes-at-least-i-wouldnt-have-to-work/ 

Michelle relays what love is here … http://considerjesus.wordpress.com/2008/04/28/true-love/ and Ric Booth makes us ponder craving everything here … http://ricbooth.wordpress.com/2008/04/25/craving-everything/ .

Jim’s linking to a thought-provoking video over here http://lordibelievehelpmyunbelief.blogspot.com/2008/04/whither-church.html and Jeff is processing pain inflicted by institutionalized Christians – no, wait – “Institutional Christianity” over here … http://jmcq.blogspot.com/2008/04/processing-pain.html

Brant moves Kamp Krusty over here http://branthansen.typepad.com/letters_from_kamp_krusty/2008/04/sorry-no-postin.html and to end our browsing we jump over to the lolcats on the blogroll at right.

Oh, and I found this useful blog entry later

This just in. Just found this blog entry that looks extremely useful  http://seedlingsinstone.blogspot.com/2008/02/golden-opportunity-talk-to-top-editors.html

 while once again indulging in insomnia, praying for my friend Gary Spengler who has ties to Suffolk, Va., – a town hit by tornado earlier today – and wondering where Gary might be these days.

Goodnight and God’s Peace.

 

 

11 Responses

  1. A very funny story! And thanks for the link love.

  2. Funny stuff.

    The best thing I ever pulled on a teacher was in 10th grade when my biology teacher asked four of us goofing off how we expected to get anywhere in life and I replied using a joke I had read that we were planning to be astronauts. “Astronauts?” “Yeah, we’re taking up space in school.” :o)

  3. Hey, Sam…I just wanted to stop over and let you know, it took me some time to answer your comment…much to ponder and pray about first. My response can be found in comment #11. With all the “chat” that took place after, I was afraid you might not bother to look it over.

    Spent time in prayer for you…will continue. 😉

  4. Hope all’s well with the news coming out of VA…

  5. Jeff,
    You and Jim provide proof that not all Christians need to be institutionalized. Thanks.
    Michelle, thanks for the prayer. But if you get a chance pray for my wife Alana and the kids.
    Alana is really suffering with physical illness (allergies and resulting upper respiratory ailment) and anxiety because of where she lives (with a former Navy Seal also needing prayer who I suspect has post-traumatic stress syndrome from taking part in the raid on Noriega’s aircraft hangar). I saw her this morning when I went to get the kids for school. She started crying because her roommate went verbally abusive on her on 4/28.
    Shoot, this is getting too long so I’ll put it out there in a blog post. The saga sort of ties into the .pdf file Jim posted “So you don’t want to go to church anymore.”
    -Sam

  6. I’m praying now…

  7. Thanks Michelle. I was going to blog about it but it all got better and Alana’s gone through enough. The best part comes from watching God at work.
    Part of her stress is being so far from home – Port Arthur, Texas. I grew up in Dallas.
    The jobs were here in D.C.
    She has gone from waiting tables in Texas to writing proposals here – teaching herself how to write along the way and climbing the career ladder.
    -Sam

  8. You grew up in Dallas?? Me too.

    Been to Port Aransas, isn’t it close to Port Arthur?

    It is hard being away from home, we were gone for twelve years. And there ain’t no place like Texas!!

    I’ll keep praying, life sure is tough:

    In this world you will have trouble, but do not be afraid, I have overcome the world. ~Jesus

  9. Michelle,
    Port Arthur is right up against the Louisiana border. Port Aransas is down there near Corpus Christi, I think.
    Yes, I graduated from W.W. Samuell High School in 1979. In ninth grade, 1975-1976, I attended First Baptist Academy at First Baptist Church, Dallas.
    Thanks for your prayers.

  10. Hey, Sam,

    I meant to get back to this earlier…I’m a bit slow these days.

    Yes. Port Arthur, on the border. We went through there a couple of years before Hurricane Katrina, on our way home from Florida. They got ‘gators down that way!!

    I graduated from RL Turner in 1980 then went off to college in OKC. Small Nazarene school – became “calvinized” a few years later. Anyway…just wanted to check back and complete the thought. The Lord keeps bringing you guys to mind, and when He does, I keep praying. 😉

  11. Michelle,
    You are making me cry.
    My wife and I loved to go to Holly Beach, Louisiana before the hurricane. You had to dodge ‘gators in the road on the way.
    Hurricane Rita literally scrubbed the landscape clean – before and after pictures are at the National Geographic website. All that was left were these concrete pads and foundations of beach houses.
    It sucks pretty bad to see a place where you had some of the best times of your life wiped out like that. At least the memories are left.
    Thanks for the continuing prayer. Alana is really sick with “Acute Contagious Bronchitis.”
    -Sam

Leave a Reply

