God and I share moments like this

Still reading the .pdf Jim posted here http://lordibelievehelpmyunbelief.blogspot.com/2008/04/and-every-one-of-them-words-rang-true.html and thinking I’m not nuts after all. 

A lot of the ideas presented ring true through experience, especially since I read “Practicing the Presence of God” years ago and combined it with the worldview of “All of life is sacramental.” Combine that with the greatest commandment followed by the next thereto and I’m trying to walk with God in his love. The tough part can come with the showing the love – unconditional love – to others.

But I talk to God a lot – especially in my jeep.

And the other day a hymn of sorts played that reminded me how God has good things for us, as God says (“Duck – he’s throwing scripture around. Watch it, he’s got a verse!” They scream)

in Jeremiah 29:10-14:

This is what the Lord says: “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my gracious promise to bring you back to this place. For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

There’s a whole devotion on that here http://www.acts17-11.com/cows_plans.html courtesy of Dean and Laura, but that’s not my point.

This is my point, put forth in the song “One of Those Days” by Adrian Belew on the album “Mr. Music Head.” Lyrics were deleted from this post to make it more readable. To read the lyrics, read here http://www.adrianbelew.net/discogbelew/mrmusichead.html .

Not too spot on in suggesting God isn’t omniscient, but if you recall in Genesis God went for a walk looking for Adam and Eve.

There are times, beautiful days outside in nature where I feel like I’m literally on a walk with Daddy (Abba God who words can’t adequately title) that the peace and joy swell like Belew’s picnic scene.

This morning I was excitedly trying to describe Idaho, Colorado, Wyoming and Montana to my daughter, telling her how I saw a grizzly bear chomping a buffalo carcass in Yellowstone National Park. I went on to regale her with a tale of how I was hiking alone near Anaconda, Montana and suddenly came nose-to-nose with a huge moose.

God was there, he felt so much closer out there in the “Cathedral of the Outdoors” for some reason, even though as I spoke God was with us there in the McDonald’s where my daughter listened to my stories and ate her fruit.

I can only hope in some way I can follow God’s example and love my daughter and son unconditionally. No “if you do this… Then I’ll…” but just walking with them, radiating love toward them as God does toward me.

Leave a Reply

