God sends emissaries, I think

Tina, who wrote an awesome post today at http://tina.gasperson.com/2008/03/13/treasure/ , left me a sympathetic comment on my last blog entry as well as Jim, who phrased my question better here http://lordibelievehelpmyunbelief.blogspot.com/2008/03/question-for-codependents.html .

I love Jim’s riff on “pure heroin for a codependent.”

 Thanks ya’ll, but know that – to paraphrase Solomon – “the wise person hears all sides of a matter.”

I’ve been a controlling beast in the past – and asked my wife’s forgiveness for it – and have the passive-aggressive lifestyle down. God’s forgiven me and is taking me away from that since I repented. My wife hasn’t forgiven.

I was a little harsh in my comment about my future ex-wife. Codependent or stupid as this may sound, I still love her by the definition of love as “seeking the best for someone regardless of the consequences for you.” She’ll be happier without me and grow more spiritually. Same is true for me.

Together, we keep each other from growing closer to God. I prayed once with her and she criticized the way I prayed. That was before we even married. She’s 14 years younger than I – you think my thoughts, or actions, were all spiritual during our courtship?

But now I’m working with God and asking Him to take out that trash. I’ve got to get a handle on my sin, with God’s help, and keep from doing it again.

Thanks for your help, folks.

Leave a Reply

