Day off with sick child taxing, the next relaxing

I don’t know why, but caring for my daughter during her illness yesterday just wasn’t much fun for either of us.

While Thursday’s activities definitely filled both of us with joy.

Wednesday, there were so many things we could have done together despite her fever, runny nose and coughing.

We could have read Bible stories together, or even story books. As it was, all I could muster was to turn on cartoons and pass out myself from either bad diet or fatigue – I haven’t nailed it down yet. We both lay down in my sister’s basement – my current “apartment” – and slumbered with shades closed and cartoon music playing. She took the bed and I the couch.

After a few hours of drifting in and out of consciousness, mainly due to a large mutt with sheepherding instincts taking turns plopping down on our legs and waking us, I gave my daughter some medicine.

My daughter perked up not long after taking the medicine. Then she began begging me to let her walk my sister’s dog. That might have aggravated what seems to have been a severe allergy attack so I decided we stay inside. Chef Dad kept trying to make her something palatable to eat, but my attempts were rebuffed.

So I ate them.

Finally, she scarfed down some pizza and a Sprite.

Thursday has gone better. First thing, I made her take her medicine and she felt and looked better. We went to a book fair and busted the entertainment budget by purchasing a Disney Princess Book featuring a “My Pod.” To anyone out there contemplating such a purchase, be warned the volume is pretty darn low. This could be a good thing, as you don’t have to worry about preschool hearing loss.

My daughter insisted that I not only purchase her a book, but also her brother. She knows him down to his tastes – his favorite book being “Diary of a Wimpy Kid.” So when she spied the sequel that just came out, she grabbed it for her brother. Not bad for a six-year-old who can get into some pretty loud sibling shouting matches with her brother. But when she’s away from him, she says she misses him. She constantly looks out for things that would please her brother and, occasionally, even her mother. It is pleasing to see her so caring about others.

I’m hoping she’s getting all this from me, but more likely it is a result of church, Awanas and some of the loving people that look after her when I’m at work from 11:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. EST.

I believe I’ve written before that we spend our mornings together. Each day I’m aware that time is growing to an end just as she is already rebuffing my attempts to hold her hand when we cross the street. I just want to make sure she’s safe. She says she can cross the street herself now.

This summer she’ll be gone all day at camp. The next school year, she starts 1st Grade on an all-day basis. I’m planning a move up the career ladder and back to a shift that coincides with her time away.

But for now we continue to enjoy our time together, anxiously await the greenup of Spring, look for the budding of trees and stay on guard to keep allergies at bay.

2 Responses

  1. To read a more thorough treatment of watching offspring sprout, read here… http://sippicancottage.blogspot.com/2008/03/heroic-sublime-reiterated.html .

  2. Kids grow up so fast….my mum now has bouts of nostalgia about the times I fell sick and constantly whined for her!

    http://amloki.blogspot.com
    http://damyantiwrites.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

