Got to get a new image…

Thank God for the verse

II Corinthians 5:17
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

View this recent exchange of letters:

(To College colleague)

Howdy!

Funny you’re in Killeen now. I was there years ago both as a member of the U.S. Air Force deploying with the U.S. Army and later working for the Waco Tribune-Herald during the Gulf War.
As it is now, the company I work for, xxx, has quite a presence at Fort Hood.
Hope you are well.

-Sam (Bob) Adams 

Sam Bob Adams, now there’s a blast from the past. My most favorite
Shorthorn colleague to ever kiss me (on the cheek) while drunk or at least mildly hungover. How are you? Where are you?

So, you’re working for some techie defense company, eh? Are you doing technical writing or PR or something more science-related? Bring me up to speed. Last I heard of you, you had married Shelly xxx, I believe, and constructed some hulking-like structure of a bed. Though it vaguely seems like we may have run into each other at a thing for Dorothy Estes and that there should be some other memory I’m recalling.

Killeen‘s a good place. It’s grown a lot in the past 10 years I’m told and it’s still growing. Close enough to home, family and some fun places. Also a decent place to finish raising three kids — 14, 11 and 4.

Write back. How’d you come across my contact? Idle Googling, I suppose. Do you keep in touch with any Shorthorn-Exs?

Dude,
   Actually, I work in a call center helping xxx employees with their benefits while I try to move into a writing position.

   I am chagrined that you remember me as a drunk. I recently went seven years without a drink working for the Port Arthur News, Harrison Daily Times (Harrison, Ark.) and a brief stint at the Winchester Star in Winchester, Va. The brief stint ended in my dismissal because I had taken on more than I could handle, i.e. I took too long at layout and let bad copy onto the pages.

   Things just sort of went downhill from there.

   But things have gone a lot better recently.

   In 1997, Shelley and I divorced. She’s in Austin at an episcopal seminary school about to become a priest.

   In 2001 I married again and have two children, daughter, 6, and son, 10. My second wife can’t decide if she wants a divorce or not, but we’re currently separated. I see the children every day and take care of my daughter in the mornings. I work 11:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. at the xxx HR facility in xxx, Va.

   I’ve started writing a blog at https://samwrites2.wordpress.com and am trying to stay true to my faith and away from booze.

   I did find you by googling as it was a pretty idle night. I was curious as to where everyone had gone.
   The only people I sort of keep in touch with are John Dycus and Roy Hamric. Roy had made me an offer to come work for him near Alpine, Texas, but my wife nixed the idea. The paper folded not long after anyway. He’s now in Thailand not too far from a military buddy of mine that runs an orphanage there.

Speaking of the military, the 712 ASOC that I was in at Bergstrom Air Force Base is now at Fort Hood.
  

Anyway, got to get my daughter to her school bus. We’re currently at the library we go to before her Kindergarten.
   Write back soon.
   -Sam 

 

Leave a Reply

