Spellsinger – Soundtrack Possibilities

Movie soundtracks can make or break those moving pictures.
That’s my belief anyway.
So here we go with another riff on a favorite book.
To understand the possibilities picked during a slow day at work, you must understand the premise behind Alan Dean Foster’s book “Spellsinger.”
This can be found on my last blog entry, but I’m going to Google deeper to see if there’s a synopsis available that I can edit down to prevent giving away too much.

I think I’ll just link to one:

http://www.readingreview.com/fantasy/spellsinger.html

Okay, so that out of the way, we know the book contains references to real songs.
I’m waiting on another copy of the book from Amazon.com because mine has been misplaced through the decades since I’ve read it.
The same mistake will hopefully allow for some of my choices here that are meant to be heavy on guitar and magic.
I know there’s a Johnny Cash song in the book but don’t remember it, but here goes my suggestions for the soundtrack:

Purple Haze – Jimi Hendrix
Rock of Ages – Def Leppard
Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap – AC / DC
Tom Sawyer – Rush
Walking in Space – Quincy Jones (Guitar solo at 7.25 minutes)
Three Little Birds – Bob Marley
Strange Universe – Frank Marino and Mahogany Rush
Be Free – Loggins and Messina
Abracadabra – Steve Miller Band
Daydream – Robin Trower
The Lightning’s Hand – Kansas
The Man on the Silver Mountain – Richie Blackmore’s Rainbow
Crazy Train – Ozzy Osbourne
Green Grass and High Tides – The Outlaws
Stranglehold – Ted Nugent
Smoke on the Water – Deep Purple
Agora – Phil Keaggy
Jessica
In Memory of Elizabeth Reed – Allman Brothers Band
Birds of Fire – Mahavishnu Orchestra
Goodbye Pork Pie Hat – Jeff Beck
Season of the Witch – Donovan
Zap – Eric Johnson (1977 version)
I’m Ok – Styx
Rock and Roll Fantasy – Bad Company

But wait, there’s more:

Breaking the Law
Hell Bent for Leather– Judas Priest
Hopelessly Human – Kansas
Flirtin with Disaster – Molly Hatchet
I Will Follow – U2
Rough Boys – Pete Townsend
I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide – ZZ Top
Girl U Want
Satisfaction – Devo

Feel free to add your selections, correct me and quote songs from the book.

For fun, here’s a rendering of Hendrix’s “Purple Haze.”

2 Responses

  1. Nice.
    And just because I like color, I watched the Teletubbies video twice!!!

    My adds, the first 2 being obvious:
    Puff the Magic Dragon – Peter, Paul & Mary
    Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds – The Beatles
    Subterranean Homesick Alien – Radiohead
    The End – The Doors
    No Bones Wedding – Ozzy Osborne
    Welcome to the Jungle – Guns N Roses
    Dr. Feelgood – Motley Crue
    Holy Diver – Dio (bends a bit Satanic, though)
    Bob – Primus
    And both Black Sabbath and Boston must have something….

  2. Thanks Lisa,
    I tried to keep my selections in the time period of before 1982 as that’s close to when the book is set.
    -Sam

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

